Home » Album Reviews, Cover Features

In This Moment “Blood”

24 January 2013 No Comment

In This Moment’s album Blood isn’t just a great ITM offering or even a kick ass metal record…it is simply a must have for any music lover’s library.

Founding members Maria Brink and Chris Howorth have dedicated themselves to In This Moment since the inception of the band and have progressed with each record; striking gold with Beautiful Tragedy, The Dream and A Star-Crossed Wasteland.  However, those were merely preludes to an album that serves as a catapult to another level.  It isn’t a turning point, so to speak, as much as just a signal that there has been an evolution.  Through some changes, they have weathered the storm and created an end-to-end masterpiece that will leave you shaking your head in amazement.  It is heavy and erotic and beautiful and macho, all at the same time.

Over the course of time, when you think of great albums, the benchmark is you can listen to the whole thing without skipping songs.  The first actual song is that which bears the same name of the album and it grabs you by the throat, serving merely as a pre-cursor for a complete typhoon of well crafted music and artfully written songs.  The song “Adrenalize” is downright sexy, as is the message behind it.  If I was a stripper (or the p.c. version “erotic dancer”) this song is without a doubt my musical selection…it is an erection for your ears.  “Whore” delivers one of the greatest lyrics in metal with “You love me for everything you hate me for” and Maria cements herself as not only the sexiest woman in metal, but one of the best metal voices out there.  “Burn” is a huge sounding anthemic song of epic proportions.  The list goes on and on.

ITM are no strangers to big festivals and tours but with this release, the name gets listed higher on the promo for some of the biggest music festivals in the world.  Make no mistake, this band is doing big things and with this album, it has set a benchmark of greatness.  Chris and Maria are still the core, but have added Travis Johnson (bass), Randy Weitzel (guitar) and Tom Hane (drums).  They are all accomplished musicians and veteran performers that are sure to serve the direction ITM is headed…which is upward at rocket pace.

Leave your response!

You must be logged in to post a comment.