Home » Album Reviews, Who's Hot!

Take Action Compilation Volume 11 review

8 January 2013 No Comment

The 11th volume of the Take Action Compilation under Hopeless Records, and in partner with their non-profit organization Sub City, will be out for everyone’s ears on January 8, 2013. This volume has many rare or unreleased tracks from artists such as The Used, We Came As Romans, AWOLNATION, All Time Low, 3OH!3, Glass Cloud, Broadway Calls, Itch, Hell or Highwater, and many more. With two discs and more than 30 songs, this is a playlist made to order for all.

It is quite the eclectic compilation ranging from punk to metal to indie rock, with acoustic sets in the mix and some dub step as well.  Disc 1, with 16 songs total,  has more well known artists such as Bad Religion, The Used, AWOLNATION, 3OH!3, Whitechapel and We Came As Romans amongst others. Disc 2, with 22 songs, has a wide variety of newer bands such as Glass Cloud, Ice Nine Kills, We Are The Ocean, Plug In Stereo, and many, many more.

At first glance of the artists, I was not sure what to think. Why add multiple genres to a compilation? But upon further research, it was clear. Music is music. People come together for a common reason. When bands and fans come together, regardless of the genre, they create a community. With the Take Action Compilation and tour, that community can share their differences, regardless of age, race, sex, socioeconomic status, sexual orientation, physical ability, etc., and shed light on important issues that can affect anyone such as depression, suicide, cancer and much more.

Both discs highlight bands who have different genres, sound, looks, upbringings and beliefs, etc., but each has something to say through their music. Compilations such as this highlight bands that some may have never heard of or wouldn’t normally listen to. There were a few bands that are not my norm to listen to that I found interesting.  And knowing this is for charity, I felt more obliged to listen harder and deeper.

All in all, this is a good compilation. I liked that there are a lot of rare and unreleased tracks (Bad Religion’s Fuck You), as well as the re-mixed tracks like AWOLNATION’s Sail, and 3OH!3’s You’re Gonna Love This. Many of the bands are about to release a new album or about to set out on tour to promote their newest album.

The Used and We Came As Romans, who are featured on this compilation, are set to start off the 2013 Take Action Tour in Vegas on January 11, which will also feature Crown the Empire and Mindflow. The cause that this tour will be supporting is The It Gets Better Project. It Gets Better Project was created to show young lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender (LGBT) people “the levels of happiness, potential, and positivity their lives will reach if they can just get through their teen years. The It Gets Better Project wants to remind teenagers in the LGBT community that they are not alone and it WILL get better.”


Track Listing
*denotes rare or unreleased

1. The Used – The Lonely*
2. We Came As Romans – Fair-weather*
3. AWOLNATION- Sail (Unlimited Gravity Remix)*
4. Bad Religion – F*** You*
5. The Wonder Years – Local Man Ruins Everything (Nervous Energies)*
6. Mayday Parade – Oh Well, Oh Well (Acoustic)
7. Falling in Reverse – The Drug In Me Is You
8. Enter Shikari – Warm Smiles Do Not Make You Welcome Here (Tek One Mix)*
9. Whitechapel – Animus
10. Periphery – Far Out (Instrumental)*
11. Sleeping With Sirens – James Dean & Audrey Hepburn (Acoustic Version)
12. All Time Low – The Reckless & The Brave (Acoustic)*
13. Never Shout Never – Pray For Peace (Demo)*
14. 3OH!3 – You’re Gonna Love This (Wuki Remix)*
15. The Summer Set – F*** U Over
16. Say Anything – Their Notions

1. Glass Cloud – Everybody Wants To Rule The World*
2. Ice Nine Kills – What I Never Learned in Study Hall (6 Feet Below)*
3. Memphis May Fire – Prove Me Right
4. Upon This Dawning – A New Beginning
5. Parkway Drive – Dark Days
6. SHARKS – Sea Of All Seas*
7. Balance & Composure – Quake
8. Silver Snakes – All My Eye*
9. Broadway Calls – Bring On The Storm*
10. We Are The Ocean – Machine
11. Transit – Skipping Stone (Alternate Version)
12. Seahaven – Understanding (Acoustic)*
13. Set It Off – Dream Catcher
14. I Am The Avalanche – I’ll Be Back Around
15. The Scene Aesthetic – Carelessly (feat. Dresses)*
16. Plug In Stereo – I Hope You Know (feat. Tay Jardine)*
17. William Beckett – 48 In A Hospital *
18. Itch – London Is Burning*
19. Twin Atlantic – Make A Beast Of Myself (Space Brother Remix)*
20. The Animal In Me – Speak*
21. Hell Or Highwater – Come Alive (Acoustic)*
22. Palisades – Bury It (Acoustic)*

Leave your response!

You must be logged in to post a comment.